Author Topic: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?  (Read 6933 times)

Offline trscsaeg

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« on: December 29, 2011, 12:35:41 PM »
i found a video of a guy who got instant to work for both bing and yahoo but i did what he did in the video and it doesn't work.

here's the vid:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PE_OH5su7WM&feature=player_embedded.                                                                                                                                   edit: title if thread has been changed. 
« Last Edit: December 29, 2011, 01:31:10 PM by trscsaeg »

Offline megamanx

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 307
Re: is instant search supposed to work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 12:47:26 PM »
It doesn't work on my end either, but it does work in ChromePlus!, so it's the feature that's broken here.

Besides, he's testing it on Chromium, not Dragon. Something tweaked in Dragon that disables it for other search engines?

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13414
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: is instant search supposed to work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2011, 01:28:08 PM »
The search string for Google looks different to the one from Bing.
If I sniff the network Google causes a 'GET' request per typed char, Bing does nothing untill you press Enter.
So 1) it's not supported 2) the string in the Search engine field is wrong.

Who can verify the Chrome setting for Bing engine?
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline trscsaeg

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: is instant search supposed to work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2011, 01:35:13 PM »
The search string for Google looks different to the one from Bing.
If I sniff the network Google causes a 'GET' request per typed char, Bing does nothing untill you press Enter.
So 1) it's not supported 2) the string in the Search engine field is wrong.

Who can verify the Chrome setting for Bing engine?
if It's not supported then why does it work in chrome and chrome plus

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13414
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: is instant search supposed to work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2011, 01:39:01 PM »
if It's not supported then why does it work in chrome and chrome plus
Sorry could be a bug, wrong implementation of Bing search engine settings or other issue caused by tweaking the code...
Can you verify the Chrome settings for Bing to see if they are the same as in Dragon?
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline BoredNow

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 344
Re: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2011, 08:55:51 PM »
It works for me.
Or maybe I'm not understanding the problem correctly.

In 'basics' - under 'search' - you have to check 'Enable Instant for faster searching'
Then...
In 'under the hood' - under 'privacy' - you have to check 'Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar'
HP pavilion media center 2006
Windows 7 64bit - Standard Acct.
EMET 3
CIS-5.10
Sandboxie 3.76

Offline megamanx

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 307
Re: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2011, 09:49:34 PM »
It works for me.
Or maybe I'm not understanding the problem correctly.

In 'basics' - under 'search' - you have to check 'Enable Instant for faster searching'
Then...
In 'under the hood' - under 'privacy' - you have to check 'Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar'

What I was thinking is when it loads the page as we type.

See the video. You are talking about suggestions, that's not it.

Offline trscsaeg

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: is instant search supposed to work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2011, 12:00:51 AM »
Sorry could be a bug, wrong implementation of Bing search engine settings or other issue caused by tweaking the code...
Can you verify the Chrome settings for Bing to see if they are the same as in Dragon?

if by setting you mean the url that chrome uses for bing search then that would be

"http://www.bing.com/search?setmkt=en-US&q=%s"

and it's the same in chrome. i tried instant search with bing as the default search provider in the current stable version of chrome and it didn't work in chrome. i don't know if it works in chrome plus though. can anyone confirm that instant search works in the current version of chrome plus with bing set as the default search provider

Offline megamanx

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 307
Re: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #8 on: December 30, 2011, 12:12:40 AM »
I remove everything except Yahoo! but I just tried Bing and it does the instant just fine like on Yahoo!.

Offline trscsaeg

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2011, 01:21:49 AM »
I remove everything except Yahoo! but I just tried Bing and it does the instant just fine like on Yahoo!.

so it loads search results as you type without having to hit enter? i'm not talking about search suggestions that dropdown from the omnibox as you type

Offline megamanx

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 307
Re: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2011, 02:03:38 AM »
so it loads search results as you type without having to hit enter? i'm not talking about search suggestions that dropdown from the omnibox as you type
You tell me.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XpnqX3-uBA

Offline trscsaeg

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2011, 02:23:09 AM »
You tell me.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XpnqX3-uBA

it doesn't load the results until you quit typing though it does look like it is trying to load results because when you start typing the page goes blank like it's trying to load the results for the search

Offline megamanx

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 307
Re: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2011, 02:28:00 AM »
it doesn't load the results until you quit typing though it does look like it is trying to load results because when you start typing the page goes blank like it's trying to load the results for the search
Not exactly, it's just my computer was being slow, the recording eats up my weak CPU to the wazoo.


Edit: I was right with Bing but Yahoo! requires you to finish typing until it displays on the search bar. Bing will aggregate word by word, typing fast is its weakpoint.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2011, 02:43:24 AM by megamanx »

Offline Radaghast

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4068
Re: instant search doesn't work for bing and yahoo?
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2011, 02:44:10 AM »
The Bing Instant search facility is slated to be part of the HTML5 version of Bing, which had a preview earlier in the year but that site is no longer available. As far as I'm aware, there's no date available for release.

There is an addon for firefox called InstantFox that gives instant search results from the address bar, for virtually any search engine. Maybe there's something similar for chromium based browsers...
« Last Edit: December 30, 2011, 03:23:02 AM by Radaghast »
“Don’t worry if it doesn’t work right. If everything did, you’d be out of a job.”

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek