Author Topic: Comodo Dragon Portable "with adblock"  (Read 8506 times)

Offline J. L.

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Comodo Dragon Portable "with adblock"
« on: May 30, 2010, 01:29:28 PM »
Really like this version, I'd say it's implemented better than iron Portable.
The thing is, I don't see how it includes adblock. Can someone expand on that?

Offline jay2007tech

  • Malware Research Group
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1994
Re: Comodo Dragon Portable "with adblock"
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2010, 02:15:24 PM »
Quote
The thing is, I don't see how it includes adblock. Can someone expand on that?
This is where it's located (see below)
Portable Dragon version 4.1.1.8\Dragon\User Data\Default\Extensions\gighmmpiobklfepjocnamgkkbiglidom\1.3.45\filters

I don't know if "adblock" updates automatically or needs to be done manually because I still can't use dragon.  (I get the "aw shucks" screen that blacks out on most web pages)  <-- I'll check it out on the next portable release to see if it's automatic or not :-TU

P.S.  Even if I can't really use it, It's doesn't stop me from making a new version for people that want it (The Portable version is NOT supported!!!!!)

P.S.S. I'll release the newest portable version in a few days :) 4.1.1.12
Also I don't why the 1 folder is called "gighmmpiobklfepjocnamgkkbiglidom"
 
It's hard being a crooked Admin when the files won't pass an md5checksum test.  But like any other good crooked Admin it can be done, it just takes time(and lots of it) and a few aspirins

Offline J. L.

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Comodo Dragon Portable "with adblock"
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2010, 06:01:54 PM »
Is there a way to make Comodo Portable always use the profile in the program folder instead of appdata, even if I make it my default browser? Or any Chromium browser for that matter.
You see, I like to keep my browsers in a RamDisk because of performance benefits, especially since I run a lot of background tasks.

Currently I'm somewhat satisfied with using Opera without the MultiUser switch.

Offline jay2007tech

  • Malware Research Group
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1994
Re: Comodo Dragon Portable "with adblock"
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2010, 02:22:53 PM »
Quote
Currently I'm somewhat satisfied with using Opera without the MultiUser switch
The newer opera version will use as much memory as you let it (I would change the default settings for that because you run alot of background tasks)

I know (99% sure) that "User Data" folder is important if using extentions.  This applies to all google brands and it's variants(unless it's been changed)

I'd read this (below)
http://dev.chromium.org/user-experience/user-data-directory

================================
Quote
I like to keep my browsers in a RamDisk because of performance benefits, especially since I run a lot of background tasks.
When I release the next portable dragon version, I'll briefly check out what can with (ram disk with dragon) also I check out if adblock updates automaticly or not

By the way, are you using XP, Vista, or Windows 7 and are you using (32x) or (64x) ????





It's hard being a crooked Admin when the files won't pass an md5checksum test.  But like any other good crooked Admin it can be done, it just takes time(and lots of it) and a few aspirins

Offline J. L.

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: Comodo Dragon Portable "with adblock"
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2010, 05:50:02 PM »
I'd read this (below)
http://dev.chromium.org/user-experience/user-data-directory

================================When I release the next portable dragon version, I'll briefly check out what can with (ram disk with dragon) also I check out if adblock updates automaticly or not

By the way, are you using XP, Vista, or Windows 7 and are you using (32x) or (64x) ????
The shortcut commands only work if you open from the shortcut you've made, not when it's set as default browser.

Thanks for your work.

I'm using Windows 7 64-bit.

Offline jay2007tech

  • Malware Research Group
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1994
Re: Comodo Dragon Portable "with adblock"
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2010, 02:31:07 PM »
Quote
Thanks for your work.

I'm using Windows 7 64-bit.
All good :-TU

I'll test with XP and Windows 7 32-bit as I don't have a 64bit. (It should be the same) :)
It's hard being a crooked Admin when the files won't pass an md5checksum test.  But like any other good crooked Admin it can be done, it just takes time(and lots of it) and a few aspirins

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek