Author Topic: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!  (Read 9982 times)

Offline JJ2K

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« on: March 15, 2009, 12:52:37 PM »
OK so the last couple of days, i've noticed the computer crunching a lot, a real lot when I first log in. It does this for about a minute, then does slower crunching for the next 3-5 mins.

So I thought what could be causing this, and set about disabling all my programs at startup one by one. However the last program to be disabled solved the problem, funnily enough it was cmdagent.exe!! (Note: Disabling cfp from msconfig did not solve the problem, I had to manually disable cmdagent.exe from services.msc)

Can anybody help me and tell me why it is causing my P.C to crunch so much at startup, I have no other programs starting up! Task Manager does not show cmdagent.exe as using a lot of CPU or Mem Usage during the problem, but it is doing so as disabling it solves the problem which contradicts this data.

Specs: 512MB RAM, Win XP Home SP 3, Packard Bell.

I didn't notice this problem before, but it gives me a headache when the P.C crunches so much, so until I find a workaround, no Comodo :(

Also note I tried disbaling Anti Virus but it stiill hapens, and by crunching I mean a crunching noise, with the red light on my tower showing it's working. This light would contantly be on during the the problem where Comodo is doing who knows what.

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2009, 02:02:00 PM »
Hey there JJ2K,

Yes this can be caused by cmdagent, some people also have a problem that some of their tray icon's do not show up. This is caused by cmdagent doing a sort of "caching scan" after the AV Database has been updated.

I have noticed that almost after every DB update the next "restart" is degraded in performance, cmdagent is "rebuilding" the cache and therefore slowing down the system. If you wait till it's finished and restart again then it should be much faster.

Can you check to see if the second reboot is faster (after you let cmdagent finish it's background scan) ?
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline JJ2K

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2009, 09:49:16 AM »
Thanks for the reply Ronny,

It was happening after every boot, and a re-install seems to have solved the problem for now.

The only things I really did was tweak my services and install Adobe CS4 which I can't really see causing this problem.

What does Comodo actually do when the computer first boots up, it auto updates the virus database, anything else?

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2009, 10:45:37 AM »
Well technically it's not updating the database at startup, it check's that a little later.

CIS will only do a sort of "pre scan" to cache stuff after a AV database update on next reboot.
So if it has redone it's cache and you would have no AV updates for 3 day's it won't rescan on reboot(s).
If the AV database is updated after that it will flush the previous "cache" and will start rebuilding that at the next reboot.
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline colegg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2009, 12:11:11 AM »
This event, where cmdagent was hogging resources, was quite ordinary for me too ... then I found there were instances where some other things did the same .. like for example Spybot .. man .. that hogs resources when doing a scan.  Actually, it's not so uncommon .. even doing a virus scan hogs resources, logically.

Best solution I found that seemed to influence them all, was add more memory.  I plugged another gig in so now I have one point five gigs .. makes an impressive difference.  Doesn't stop the hogging at all - but really makes the time the hogging lasts, much, much less significant ... & yes, I have XP home sp3 too, on old hardware (35mb video card, for example).

I hated how cmdagent was doing this to me ... & talked with others (Cnet actually) & they pointed out it's common .. but so are all the other potential hogs .. memory is the best bet, they said ... or a much faster machine overall.  I chose the cheaper option, logically.

With the prices as they are these current days, that would probably help you a lot ..not only for this little bug of course .. but also for gaming or anything else ... logically.

colegg.

Offline DaRtH VaDeR.

  • Usability Study Member
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1782
  • Everything in life comes to an end, exept life
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2009, 09:45:35 AM »
I have the same problems..... I really think the devs must figure out a better caching method to catch bad stuff in memory.... Maybe when boclean is being integrated in to CIS/CAVS the pre- caching can be left away...
DaRtH VaDeR says: "The path of success and progress is not to be reached by the things you have done, but by the things you will do, so think before you act,the voice of your history will confirm this fact.."

DaRtH VaDeR says: "Your system is as secure as the weakest link in your entire security"

Offline JJ2K

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2009, 12:23:38 PM »
As an update this problem happened again and I had to reinstall yet again to get rid of it.

It's not normal, basically what happens is I can boot up the P.C and even if I dont log in or if i do the computer will crunch away doing who knows what for a good 2-3 minutes before i can use it. (2-3 minutes is a very long time btw)

On reinstall Comodo does not do this and I can use my pc straight away after about 10 seconds.

If this problem happens yet again i will bring the topic back up so we can iron out the problem once and for all.

Offline DaRtH VaDeR.

  • Usability Study Member
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1782
  • Everything in life comes to an end, exept life
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2009, 01:12:17 PM »
I have the same problem and it is basically killing my disk and cpu...... disk usage is very high when booting...... makes the pc unusable for about 2-3 minutes.....
DaRtH VaDeR says: "The path of success and progress is not to be reached by the things you have done, but by the things you will do, so think before you act,the voice of your history will confirm this fact.."

DaRtH VaDeR says: "Your system is as secure as the weakest link in your entire security"

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2009, 04:10:07 AM »
Does this also happen when setting the real-time AV to disabled ?
and are you running stateful or on-access when this happens ?
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline DaRtH VaDeR.

  • Usability Study Member
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1782
  • Everything in life comes to an end, exept life
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2009, 10:22:28 AM »
av is set to stateful and I do not want to disable the av, because I need to be protected by the antivirus.... if this does not happen when I disable the av, then the problem lies in the av component, this should be fixed... it makes no sense having an av with real time protection set to disabled,because it is hogging the pc.....
DaRtH VaDeR says: "The path of success and progress is not to be reached by the things you have done, but by the things you will do, so think before you act,the voice of your history will confirm this fact.."

DaRtH VaDeR says: "Your system is as secure as the weakest link in your entire security"

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2009, 11:20:21 AM »
av is set to stateful and I do not want to disable the av, because I need to be protected by the antivirus.... if this does not happen when I disable the av, then the problem lies in the av component, this should be fixed... it makes no sense having an av with real time protection set to disabled,because it is hogging the pc.....
I was not saying that you should leave it disabled all the time i was just wondering if the symptom would disappear when the AV was set to disabled, just for testing/troubleshooting purposes. Not for everyday use.
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline DaRtH VaDeR.

  • Usability Study Member
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1782
  • Everything in life comes to an end, exept life
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2009, 11:30:33 AM »
yeah, I understand why you suggested it, still my statement counts: the av component must not hog the pc when it is set to stateful or a level higher or lower.... when booting the pc, this has to be fixed. Also I do not scan with the av, because it is making my pc very very slow.... very high disk usage and random cpu spikes and slow progress when scanning....
DaRtH VaDeR says: "The path of success and progress is not to be reached by the things you have done, but by the things you will do, so think before you act,the voice of your history will confirm this fact.."

DaRtH VaDeR says: "Your system is as secure as the weakest link in your entire security"

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 19132
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2009, 05:36:00 PM »
yeah, I understand why you suggested it, still my statement counts: the av component must not hog the pc when it is set to stateful or a level higher or lower.... when booting the pc, this has to be fixed. Also I do not scan with the av, because it is making my pc very very slow.... very high disk usage and random cpu spikes and slow progress when scanning....
That is all very true but testing only will bring us further and it won't hurt as you still have D+ to protect you.

Offline JimmieD

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2009, 07:42:03 AM »
Hi all!

I'm having this same problem with an older machine, XP-Pro SP3.

I had no problems when Comodo was first installed, and I added other protection as Spyware Guard, AVG Free, Spyware Blaster, Spybot Search/Destroy, Malware Bytes & Super-Antispyware. Still no problems, computer was only as 3%-5% slower with all that.

Then Comodo refused to recognize or allow AVG to work, so I tried to force it to allow AVG but a message says AVG's Security Certificate not verified! Won't allow AVG or let me add it to approved or safe programs. It also blocked every other security/anti-spyware program, but I got it to allow most of them.

Then about 1 month ago I got a Comodo message that an update was available, 'Do you want to install this update?' This is apparently for a version update? I have only gotten these version updates 2 or 3 times in the last 6 months or so. This is not just an automatic database update.

Since that major update sometime in May [and only since then] I have had this problem continuously, and often have the computer lock up, or programs failing to respond, or shutdown problems. Never had this problem before that update, whatever it was. This problem seems to be related to some component in or something done by that update.

Offline JimmieD

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
Re: Comodo Hogging My P.C at startup!
« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2009, 07:52:54 AM »
I just checked the version of that update and see:

3.9.95478.509

I assume the .509 at the end of that indicates May '09 version? That's about when my computer started screwing up....

Thanks all!

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek