Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 11, 2008, 03:39:26 PM

Login with username, password and session length

199355 Posts
22897 Topics
54962 Members

Latest Member: ivbr

Search:     Advanced search | Tag Cloud
+  Welcome to the Comodo Forum
|-+  Want to help Comodo?
| |-+  How can you help Comodo? (Please we do need you!)
| | |-+  What is this? (The Shield Firewall 5.0)
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 13 Go Down Print
Author Topic: What is this? (The Shield Firewall 5.0)  (Read 24710 times)
Commodus
Computer Security Testing Group
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1956


Emperor Commodus


« Reply #30 on: March 28, 2008, 12:29:42 PM »

Seems like their product Security Shield really is F-Secure ISS 2006, and this one is Kaspersky ISS.
The adress privacydefender4.com also works, instead of pcsecurityshield.com. Pretty strange, since they're not offering that product nowadays.

They are copying everything ! Shocked Angry
Logged

Roses are red,
Violets are blue,
God made me handsome -
But what happened to you ? Shocked
As wise ol'MorphOS once said - "Stay different"
Comodo Internet Security 3.5.52396.411 BETA 3
Blas
Computer Security Testing Group
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 364


« Reply #31 on: March 28, 2008, 12:34:13 PM »

LoL
I knew it was familiar from somewhere...
And its strange too...Okay, Kaspersky has sold its antivirus engine to a lot of third parties. But in those cases, at least the ones I came across it was mentioned clearly that they are using that engine. Note that only the engine...not the whole gui with only the colors changed lol (I thought the gui is copyrighted..)...I can do that in paint too haha...And I thought you NEED to mention if you are using third party technology..as with linux distributions. It is always indicated if the distro is based on another one. And
look where does the official 'download.com' icon point.  Thinking
I don't want to make accusations, but this site really looks like a wannabe-serious and trying-to-look-sophisticated phishing.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2008, 01:50:54 PM by Blas » Logged
Commodus
Computer Security Testing Group
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1956


Emperor Commodus


« Reply #32 on: March 28, 2008, 12:40:05 PM »

LoL
I knew it was familiar from somewhere...
And its strange too...Okay, Kaspersky has sold its antivirus engine to a lot of third parties. But in those cases, at least the ones I came across it was mentioned clearly that they are using that engine. Note that only the engine...not the whole gui with only the colors changed lol (I thought the gui is copyrighted..)...I can do that in paint too haha...And I thought you NEED to mention if you are using third party technology..as with linux distributions. It is always indicated if the distro is based on another one. And look where does the official 'download.com' icon point.  Thinking
I don't want to make accusations, but this site really looks like a wannabe-serious and trying-to-look-sophisticated phishing.


Yeah. Come to think about all the greens they "spent" on licensing those products - quite a large sum of money.

I know Steganos has licensed Kaspersky and AVG with the GUI looking exactly the same, but this is too much  Shocked
« Last Edit: March 28, 2008, 12:42:13 PM by Commodus » Logged

Roses are red,
Violets are blue,
God made me handsome -
But what happened to you ? Shocked
As wise ol'MorphOS once said - "Stay different"
Comodo Internet Security 3.5.52396.411 BETA 3
Rafel
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 291


I use only the best, I use Comodo firewall


« Reply #33 on: March 28, 2008, 01:40:51 PM »

LoL
I knew it was familiar from somewhere...
And its strange too...Okay, Kaspersky has sold its antivirus engine to a lot of third parties. But in those cases, at least the ones I came across it was mentioned clearly that they are using that engine. Note that only the engine...not the whole gui with only the colors changed lol (I thought the gui is copyrighted..)...I can do that in paint too haha...And I thought you NEED to mention if you are using third party technology..as with linux distributions. It is always indicated if the distro is based on another one. And look where does the official 'download.com' icon point.  Thinking
I don't want to make accusations, but this site really looks like a wannabe-serious and trying-to-look-sophisticated phishing.

First af all, i don't like taht company, but:




Well, in FW and AS don't specifies powered by..., but perhaps  when they signed the contract, that point wasn't included.
Sorry my english
Logged

Blas
Computer Security Testing Group
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 364


« Reply #34 on: March 28, 2008, 01:49:14 PM »

Thanks Rafel for pointing this out...somehow I missed it...I'll edit my posts accordingly
Logged
Rafel
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 291


I use only the best, I use Comodo firewall


« Reply #35 on: March 28, 2008, 02:24:59 PM »

You are welcome Blas.

They are not copying. They make/sell licenced products. They don't sell the last updated product, but their prices are cheappy,well, they say is alimited offer, but isn't true, but others "good companies" do the same. They offer an outdated product, but coording to their words, have got a 24/7 phone attention for free, the FW is lifetime with 24/7 free phone support.
The The problem is not they are selling a product COMODO offers for free. The end user can choose. The problem is if that 24/7 attention is true, if they bundle "presents" in their products, their ads, if they are selling for third party your data and then you receive a lot of spam in your mail.
I think COMODO must investigate practices of that company because COMODO reputation is above the table.
Logged

JamesFrance
Comodo Loves me
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 180



« Reply #36 on: March 31, 2008, 09:01:08 AM »

It is not just Site Advisor which doesn't like this.   I tried to look at the web site but cannot go there, so I guess my MVPS hosts file has it blocked.
Logged

James
Goose18
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1145



« Reply #37 on: March 31, 2008, 12:58:24 PM »

*bump* any news Melih?
Logged

Avast! 4.8, BOClean, CFP3 and did i mention Avast! 4.8 Grin  OH guess what!!! Avast! 4.8 Grin


System Specs:  Pentium 4 with HT 3.06 Ghz,  1.5GB RAM, 160 GB WDC HD, Nvidia Geforce 7600GT 256MB
Melih
Comodo's Hero
Administrator
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5684



WWW
« Reply #38 on: March 31, 2008, 01:57:08 PM »

they are registered with BBB etc.

we are talking to them to hear their side of the story.

thanks
melih
Logged

JamesFrance
Comodo Loves me
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 180



« Reply #39 on: March 31, 2008, 02:05:20 PM »

Not being familiar with BBB, I tried Google and came up with this:

http://www.brumbazaar.co.uk/

Surely not? Wink
Logged

James
Ragwing
Global Moderator
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3115


Sailor Warrior of Love and Justice


« Reply #40 on: March 31, 2008, 02:09:39 PM »

Not being familiar with BBB, I tried Google and came up with this:

http://www.brumbazaar.co.uk/

Surely not? Wink

I would guess BBB means Better Business Bureau.

Cheers,
Ragwing
Logged



XP SP3 2 GHz 768 MB RAM
5 services / 12 processes
JamesFrance
Comodo Loves me
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 180



« Reply #41 on: March 31, 2008, 02:12:20 PM »

I'm sure you're right Ragwing, I found that too!
Logged

James
Blas
Computer Security Testing Group
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 364


« Reply #42 on: March 31, 2008, 03:19:20 PM »

Anyway I do not like that they are selling cfp.
I think it is against comodo policy...
If they are only selling the 24/7 free phone support for it, then ok. But if this is the case it is far from obvious from their site. The reason on their site for "why should you buy it" are the features and protection strengths of cfp. These features are also available free. I think this is a clear misleading approach.
Im sure that legally there is nothing we can criticize, but I think this is the same as with contracts or licenses...
10 pages of "blah...blah..." and then on the last one, as a footnote there is the tricky part..."it was there..." but who reads them through?
Logged
lurkingatu2
Comodo Family Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 69



« Reply #43 on: March 31, 2008, 04:03:22 PM »

well last nite i was going to try and download pcsecurityshields stuff but avira antivir pe classic went off with

Virus or unwanted program 'HTML/Infected.WebPage.Gen [HTML/Infected.WebPage.Gen]'
detected in file 'C:\Documents and Settings\x86master\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\H28Z70CI\company-info-5290-PCSecurityShield[1].htm.
Action performed: Deny access

doin't look good at all IMO
Logged

avira antivir pe classic winpatrol counterspy v2.5 superantispyware pro sandboxie spywareblaster zonedout for ie-spyad hostman with mvp hp host file 1.30ghz amd 256 mem xp pro sp2
Goose18
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1145



« Reply #44 on: March 31, 2008, 04:05:58 PM »

I'm tellin ya... bad bad company right there. Thumb Down
Logged

Avast! 4.8, BOClean, CFP3 and did i mention Avast! 4.8 Grin  OH guess what!!! Avast! 4.8 Grin


System Specs:  Pentium 4 with HT 3.06 Ghz,  1.5GB RAM, 160 GB WDC HD, Nvidia Geforce 7600GT 256MB
Tags: COMODO 
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 13 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

SSL Firewall
Page created in 0.199 seconds with 20 queries.
Powered by SMF 1.1.5 | SMF © 2006, Simple Machines LLC
Seo4Smf v0.2 © Webmaster's Talks
Design by 7dana.com