Author Topic: modified hosts?  (Read 11098 times)

Offline Jokersvirus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
modified hosts?
« on: August 26, 2012, 10:13:06 AM »
I just completed a  smart scan with CCE and it bought up two abnormal system issue: 1) Disabled UAC, I did that myself because of how annoying it can get and 2) Modified hosts. I tried to repair it and it failed apparently. I did a little bit of research and from my understanding this "Modified host" is a file from system32 or something. Does anyone have some information on this?

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13417
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: modified hosts?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2012, 10:20:38 AM »
The host file can be found in \Windows\System32\Drivers\etc
The file should contain comments that start with # and only one rule with 127.0.0.1 localhost in it to be seen as 'Default'.

Do you have anything else in there?
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline Jokersvirus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: modified hosts?
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 07:13:10 PM »
I do have a long list of websites in there . The list was created by Spybot search and destroy

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 19364
Re: modified hosts?
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2012, 08:06:54 PM »
Did you set Spybot or any other program to protect the Hosts file?

Offline Jokersvirus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: modified hosts?
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2012, 09:42:33 PM »
I just checked spyboy and it has an option to immunize global hosts. So im pretty sure that is the problem

Offline loverboy

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 409
Re: modified hosts?
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2012, 03:02:39 AM »
I did a little bit of research and from my understanding this "Modified host" is a file from system32 or something. Does anyone have some information on this?

http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
NOD32 Antivirus 4.2.71.2
COMODO CIS 5.10.228257.2253
Configuration: Proactive Security
Firewall Security Level: Custom Policy Mode
Defense+ Security Level: Clean PC Mode
Sandbox: Disabled

Offline n01paranoid

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
Re: modified hosts?
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2012, 06:21:40 AM »
I too use the mvps hosts file and CCE flags it as a threat - modified hosts. So can I take it that this warning can be ignored?

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 19364
Re: modified hosts?
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2012, 09:51:41 PM »
It depends on the changes made to the hosts file.

Changes to the hosts file can be made as a way of blocking access to sites that are considered unwanted. F.e. Spybot Search and Destroy offers the option to block bad sites by adapting the hosts file.

If you have Spybot installed go the section for the hosts list and revert the changes. Then see what is left in the hosts file.

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek