Author Topic: Backup process failed with code 4  (Read 34699 times)

Offline mrman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Backup process failed with code 4
« on: September 04, 2009, 12:27:57 PM »
Hi,

I'm configuring v2.0 on a 64-bit Vista machine to backup to a local ftp server.

When I manually run the backup, and after inputting the username/pwd, the process will create a new folder on the ftp server (so I know the connection is OK) but then fails after several seconds with the error: "Backup process failed with code 4".

Here's the log:
   Running scheduled backup ftp://192.168.1.10/etc...
   Collecting Information...
   Starting Backup Process...
   Error Occurred
   Backup process failed with code 4

I wasn't able to find any information on error codes. 
Thanks for your help.

Dave



Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2009, 05:50:13 AM »
Hi,

I'm configuring v2.0 on a 64-bit Vista machine to backup to a local ftp server.

When I manually run the backup, and after inputting the username/pwd, the process will create a new folder on the ftp server (so I know the connection is OK) but then fails after several seconds with the error: "Backup process failed with code 4".

Here's the log:
   Running scheduled backup ftp://192.168.1.10/etc...
   Collecting Information...
   Starting Backup Process...
   Error Occurred
   Backup process failed with code 4

I wasn't able to find any information on error codes. 
Thanks for your help.

Dave


Hi

Please give us more details :
- what kind of backup it is (files and directories, disk/partition, etc)
- is it a 'simple copy' backup?
- do you have enough space on the ftp server?
- does the error occur when you recreate the backup without scheduling?

Thank you
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline mrman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2009, 10:08:36 AM »
Thanks for your quick reply.


It's a ...
Files and directories backup.
Simple Copy
The server has about 600 GB of free space
The backup was not scheduled.

I've attached screen shots of the setup windows.

Thank you

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2009, 01:43:56 PM »
Yes, this looks like a bug :)

We will investigate the issue and come with a solution

Thank you
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline polinom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2009, 08:03:25 AM »
i have this problem too.  >:(
 Please rebuild this version

Offline dominofx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2009, 02:08:36 PM »
I  too have this problem.  I ran installed comodo on my lenovo desktop and the backup worked without a hitch,  yet I just installed it on my brand new HP desktop and I too got the code 4 error.  I proceeded to uninstall it, install it again, and it gave me the same error.  I ran it as a scheduled backup and again the same error.  I created a folder and again the same error.  Please let me know how to rectify this situation because I am really happy with the product. 

Thanks!

Offline PHOTOGPAUL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2009, 05:32:41 AM »
i also am getting this error, and have been unable to make a successful backup.  Please help because your software seems so simple and fulfills my needs.

Thanks!!!!

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2009, 05:45:39 AM »
Hi

We will fix this issue.
You can use backup to .CBU file until the next release.

Thank you
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline christaylor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2009, 06:47:40 PM »
I also have the same problem - "Backup process failed with code 4".
The line before says "IOCTL error".
I am trying to backup my complete C dive to an external HD using a .cbu extension (lots of free space on HD).
Vista Ultimate, 64 bit.

Thanks.

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2009, 07:29:34 AM »
I also have the same problem - "Backup process failed with code 4".
The line before says "IOCTL error".
I am trying to backup my complete C dive to an external HD using a .cbu extension (lots of free space on HD).
Vista Ultimate, 64 bit.

Thanks.

Hi

Can you please try the diagnose button in the settings tab.
Did you restart your computer after install when you tried to perform the backup?

Thanks
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline christaylor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2009, 12:15:07 PM »
Hi,

I'd just downloaded Comodo backup from the Comodo Website for the first time and assumed it was the latest version. It was 2.0.8 something (I think). Clicked on "Check for updates", installed the latest version and all is well. Great product! Thanks.

Offline vannini

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2009, 06:06:12 PM »
I am having the same problem with newly downloaded version 117500.10 using simple copy to another pc on local network. All shares et up correctly.

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2009, 06:30:39 AM »
I am having the same problem with newly downloaded version 117500.10 using simple copy to another pc on local network. All shares et up correctly.

Hi

Please press "check for updates" and install the latest version.
If you still have troubles please describe the problem more detailed. Go to settings tab, press Diagnose too see if application is installed correctly.
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline Arsenal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2009, 05:43:02 PM »
I also have the same problem - "Backup process failed with code 4".
The line before says "IOCTL error".
I am trying to backup my complete C dive to an external HD using a .cbu extension (lots of free space on HD).
Vista Ultimate, 64 bit.

Thanks.

I'm getting a similar error.  Twice, I have gotten about 40 GB into a backup of my hard drive (200 GB) when the error pops up.  I am running XP 32 bit.  I have version 2.1.118414.11 and the diagnose button indicates that my installation is correct and I rebooted the machine before trying the backup.

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2162
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: Backup process failed with code 4
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2009, 02:25:57 PM »
I'm getting a similar error.  Twice, I have gotten about 40 GB into a backup of my hard drive (200 GB) when the error pops up.  I am running XP 32 bit.  I have version 2.1.118414.11 and the diagnose button indicates that my installation is correct and I rebooted the machine before trying the backup.

Hi

We need some more information:
Does this error occurs at the begging or the end of the backup process or, does this occur during the actual backup?
What other additional security/backup software you have installed?

Thank you
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek