Author Topic: Functionality lost after Version 3.9.95478.509?  (Read 1951 times)

Offline AzJazz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Functionality lost after Version 3.9.95478.509?
« on: September 18, 2009, 04:26:06 AM »
After upgrading past Comodo Firewall Version 3.9.95478.509, it seems like a very major functionality was lost: If I decided to block a particular application from accessing the Internet, if it was listed on some Comodo-managed "safe list", the application would still have full access to the Internet even though I wanted it blocked. Comodo seems to override my settings.

Is this the way that Comodo operates now? Or, is there a configuration option that I missed in later Comodo versions? For now, I'm using Comodo Version 3.9.95478.509 until I find another option ...

Please let me know if I'm missing something here ...

Thanks!

AzJazz

Offline HeffeD

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6831
Re: Functionality lost after Version 3.9.95478.509?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2009, 02:44:22 PM »
Please let me know if I'm missing something here ...

Hmmm... No, you aren't missing anything. If you block a file, it should be blocked.

Can you give more specifics? Any file or files in particular that we may have on our systems to test this issue?

Offline AzJazz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Functionality lost after Version 3.9.95478.509?
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2009, 12:36:35 AM »
I am running WinXP SP2 Pro.

When I upgraded from Comodo 3.9.95478.509 to the next release, everything I had blocked now had free access to the Internet.

Before I upgraded from Internet Explorer 6 to Internet Explorer 7, I had Windows Explorer blocked from all access to the internet. (This was due to a hidden executable / trojan that had run on my computer once that used used Windows Explorer to FTP some unknown file to someplace in Eastern Europe). Since I never use Windows Explorer to get on the Internet, it was fine for me to block all internet access - and it also provided a useful tool to check if Comodo was working properly after an update. (Note: The Windows Explorer test doesn't work after I upgraded to IE7, since now Windows Explorer will automatically start up IE7 when a URL is entered into the path field in Windows Explorer).

I also had Adobe_Updater blocked, and it wasn't blocked after upgrading.

It has been a few months since I "downgraded" Comodo back to 3.9.95478.509 (for me it was an upgrade). I'm not sure, but I think that the "Settings >> Update >> Automatically perform an online lookup" option is no longer available after that update (or maybe it isn't working).

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 18747
Re: Functionality lost after Version 3.9.95478.509?
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2009, 10:45:52 AM »
I tried to reproduce the behaviour  you described. I set the Firewall to Safe Mode. I deleted FF cache and closed FF. Then I changed the rule for Firefox (which is on the safe list) to blocked. When I started FF it could not connect anymore.

I think something has gone wrong with your configuration. Please do a clean install of the yesterday released v 3.12: https://forums.comodo.com/feedbackcommentsannouncementsnews_cis/comodo_internet_security_312111745560_released-t45362.0.html .

Offline AzJazz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Functionality lost after Version 3.9.95478.509?
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2009, 11:55:03 AM »
OK, cool! Will I be able to import my 3.9.x configuration into 3.12?

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13381
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Functionality lost after Version 3.9.95478.509?
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2009, 11:59:19 AM »
That's not advisable because of some internal changed made to the saving of the policies to improve system response during heavy alerts of CIS.
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline AzJazz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Functionality lost after Version 3.9.95478.509?
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2009, 06:37:25 PM »
My configuration seems to be working OK after the clean install. Maybe I had a problem before because I upgraded?

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek