Author Topic: (Resolved) comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?  (Read 4161 times)

Offline liosant

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 542
comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
comparing the zone alarm (default setting)

 and Comodo (firewall custom mode)
« Last Edit: January 25, 2012, 08:25:38 PM by liosant »
Comodo internet security 6 - installation and configuration http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmbhbCzxThM

Offline Radaghast

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4068
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2012, 02:25:35 PM »
Nmap gives the results I'd expect. What are your Global rule settings?
“Don’t worry if it doesn’t work right. If everything did, you’d be out of a job.”

Offline liosant

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 542
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2012, 02:40:56 PM »

but would not be correct all ports filtered?
Comodo internet security 6 - installation and configuration http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmbhbCzxThM

Offline Radaghast

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4068
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2012, 03:05:17 PM »
Nmap uses slightly different terminology for the results of it's scans, filtered simply means nmap found a port that's 'filtered' by a firewall and is unable to detect if it's open or closed. Didn't you run these scans once before with PCFlank/GRC?
“Don’t worry if it doesn’t work right. If everything did, you’d be out of a job.”

Offline liosant

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 542
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2012, 07:31:43 AM »
Nmap uses slightly different terminology for the results of it's scans, filtered simply means nmap found a port that's 'filtered' by a firewall and is unable to detect if it's open or closed. Didn't you run these scans once before with PCFlank/GRC?

yes, the GRC doors were invisible and I am unsure as to the test because it seems a bit old. In PCFLANK is not a site that inspires confidence, and to finish here in Brazil some users have reported that the CIS will not let the invisible doors with tests done in a network with nmap.
Comodo internet security 6 - installation and configuration http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmbhbCzxThM

Offline Radaghast

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4068
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2012, 07:49:28 AM »
Are you behind a NAT device of some sort, of is it a direct cable connection?
“Don’t worry if it doesn’t work right. If everything did, you’d be out of a job.”

Offline liosant

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 542
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2012, 07:56:24 AM »
direct connection
Comodo internet security 6 - installation and configuration http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmbhbCzxThM

Offline Radaghast

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4068
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2012, 08:17:22 AM »
Try running a host scan using -v -f -sV -PN as the nmap switches. You might get an error but you can ignore that.
“Don’t worry if it doesn’t work right. If everything did, you’d be out of a job.”

Offline liosant

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 542
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2012, 08:40:39 AM »
Try running a host scan using -v -f -sV -PN as the nmap switches. You might get an error but you can ignore that.

excuse the ignorance but what it means nmap-sV-v-f-Pn?
Now all ports are filtered.
thanks!
Comodo internet security 6 - installation and configuration http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmbhbCzxThM

Offline Radaghast

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4068
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2012, 05:19:29 PM »
excuse the ignorance but what it means nmap-sV-v-f-Pn?
Now all ports are filtered.
thanks!

The default options when using Zenmap aren't terribly accurate, so if you're going to start scanning your network with nmap, it's worth taking the time to find out how it works. The aforementioned options provide a better guage of your firewalls ability to 'stealth' (filter) ports. For more information you can take a look at Nmap Reference Guide

“Don’t worry if it doesn’t work right. If everything did, you’d be out of a job.”

Offline liosant

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 542
Re: comodo can not filter ports, what can I do to fix this?
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2012, 08:24:20 PM »
thanks I'll take a peek.
Comodo internet security 6 - installation and configuration http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmbhbCzxThM

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek