Author Topic: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7  (Read 126609 times)

Offline Radaghast

• Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #225 on: April 06, 2012, 10:21:03 PM »
There's obviously a key difference in the drivers used by different AV players. If one looks at Avira Web-guard, which is effectively the same as Avast web-shield, they're both able to bypass Windows firewall, but only Avast is able to bypass CIS...

Does anyone know of any other AV products that have web-guard/shield technology?
“Don’t worry if it doesn’t work right. If everything did, you’d be out of a job.”

Offline pc_pete

• Comodo's Hero
  • No idea where this came from!
« Reply #226 on: April 08, 2012, 12:54:01 AM »
In a single round of 3-handed 'paper,stone,scissors' - every player can lose.

If you go the other way, doesn't everyone win?

Offline pc_pete

• Comodo's Hero
  • No idea where this came from!
« Reply #227 on: April 08, 2012, 08:48:23 AM »
I'm no expert on the intricacies but it seems to me that,

1. Avast 7 does differentiate - using WFP for the 'Web Shield' with Windows 7 & 8 but the older API on earlier Windows versions, like my 'old school' XP Pro PC.

2. On Windows 7, whatever method CIS (and not to forget MS Windows 7 firewall also) uses to intercept outbound traffic does not "see" the traffic which is going via Avast Web Shield as not having been generated by Avast itself, but according to 'Radaghast', this is not so for Avira's web shield.  ???

Offline Seany007

• Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • Comodo Commando
« Reply #228 on: May 24, 2012, 09:16:35 PM »
One Q what is the real security issue with Comodo Firewall and Avast 7 what is the fuss about? Bypassing Comodo Firewall because of the Avast 7 web-shield? I mean how BAD this is really? 1 from 10 for security? Anyone?
Proud Comodo User (CIS, CD, CID and CMS)

Offline MartiusD

• Comodo Loves me
« Reply #229 on: May 26, 2012, 11:07:08 AM »