Author Topic: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7  (Read 104672 times)

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 10020
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #105 on: March 11, 2012, 10:02:56 AM »
Indeed a curiosity. I suppose the argument is that custom applies only to firewall policies.

Note that in D+, specific CSP restrictive policies take precedence over the trusted files policy.

Precedence of autosandbox and csp policies.

Wish I had time to experiment.

Best wishes

Mouse

Offline clockwork

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Oxygen requires Chuck Norris to live
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #106 on: March 11, 2012, 10:19:19 AM »
Add a rule below your existing Application rules that blocks everything else:

Nostalgic....
Reminds me on the line interface firewall i used a long past ago :)
« Last Edit: March 11, 2012, 10:22:03 AM by clockwork »
"If there is a problem, it`s something interesting. Try to circumvent or fix it.
In the old ages there was no support. That`s why we got the brain we have today.
Otherwise we would only be able to call a number and listen."

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 10020
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #107 on: March 11, 2012, 04:36:05 PM »
Indeed it does, and here again is another curiosity. If one switches the firewall to Custom Policy mode with alerts on very high, then whatever 'trust' may have been conferred by D+, should be removed. That is, or should be, the point of Custom Policy mode.

That aside, I did delete the TVL and trusted database, along with all the other files in the database directory. After allowing the least number of D+ rules to keep Avast working, the firewall is still bypassed. 
 

Yet another curiosity - just received an inbound OpenDNS connection request to Dragon. On the alert I chose to display a full set of options, and only then selected allow.

Got an allow from Mac any to/from Mac any, Any Protocol rule. The convention used to be that you got a specific rule if you clicked on more options before allowing access? Maybe I've got this wrong as I'm not a firewall expert.

The only way I could get a specific rule was by choosing a policy....

Win 7 64 bit again ........?

Offline Radaghast

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4068
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #108 on: March 11, 2012, 07:18:09 PM »
I've noticed, when testing inbound connections, the resultant rule can be horribly generic, regardless of the firewall settings. I'd have to go back a few versions to see if/how this differs from the current situation.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2012, 12:04:42 AM by Radaghast »
“Don’t worry if it doesn’t work right. If everything did, you’d be out of a job.”

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 10020
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #109 on: March 12, 2012, 03:54:34 AM »
I've noticed, when testing inbound connections, the resultant rule can be horribly generic, regardless of the firewall settings. I'd have to go back a few versions to see if/how this differs from the current situation.

Difficult to see this as intentional. How does it differ from making something a (FW) trusted file? So why offer both choices?

I'm in danger of OT, so I'll moderate myself now :)

More on topic do we know what happens when Avast 7 Web Shield is running and a file that is sandboxed tries internet access?

Best wishes

Mouse

Offline tbmaster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #110 on: March 12, 2012, 05:04:41 PM »
I've updated Comodo to the latest version 5.10.228257.2253 but the problem isn't solved.
Every blocked app can connect to the internet with Avast Shield activated.

Offline languy99

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3940
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #111 on: March 12, 2012, 06:30:59 PM »
I've updated Comodo to the latest version 5.10.228257.2253 but the problem isn't solved.
Every blocked app can connect to the internet with Avast Shield activated.

don't mean to sound mean but was anything in the release notes mentioned about this issue being solved?
http://www.youtube.com/languy99

Software Reviews for all.

Follow me on Twitter http://twitter.com/#!/languy99

Offline iroc9555

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 199
  • Caracas, Vnzl.
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #112 on: March 12, 2012, 07:06:16 PM »
I'm in talk with the devs so we will get to the bottom of it.

Any news you can share.

Thanks.
"We are all ignorant, but we don't all ignore the same things..." (Albert Einstein)

XP Pro Spk 3_x86. IE 8 & FF 22 C2D Conroe (2.40 Ghz), 2 GB RAM
Avast! 8 Free
CIS 5.12 (F/D+)
MBAM 1.75 Pro
WinPatrol Plus
WOT
SAS (On demand scan).

Offline hellion

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Free the Web!
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #113 on: March 13, 2012, 02:45:56 AM »
Hi All,

CIS was updated to version 5.10.228257.2253.

This Avast 7 issue is still very much a problem.

:(
Regards,
Hellion

Offline tbmaster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #114 on: March 13, 2012, 05:41:35 AM »
don't mean to sound mean but was anything in the release notes mentioned about this issue being solved?

Well, don't mean to sound mean but have you read the release notes?
Have you read something like:
"Compatibility with other security suites is improved in Windows 7 x64"  or
"fixed: HIPS can leak process handles with a special set of access rights"

I'm not a comodo's developer so I don't know if it regards avast but it's possible.
I've had enough to hear complaints about my posts, Comodo has a problem and as of today has not been fixed, that's the reality and no one can change it.

Offline aim4it

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 317
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #115 on: March 13, 2012, 09:12:24 AM »
Those sound like changes to Defense+ and not the firewall driver.

Offline tbmaster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #116 on: March 17, 2012, 12:38:51 PM »
Ok, I can confirm that PrivateFirewall is not affected by this bug.
Code: [Select]
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93953.msg763494#msg763494
Comodo and windows firewall are the only ones affected by this bug.

In the known issues thread of this forum, I've read that this is a difficult bug to resolve permanently.
Quote
Recurring problems that are difficult for Comodo to permanently fix
CIS under Win 7 cannot prevent firewall connections when Avast 7 webshield is enabled.
What that means? Comodo will not fix this? or they have to wait for microsoft to fix windows firewall?

Quote
A firewall that can't block connections and cannot be fixed! OMG!

Offline clockwork

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Oxygen requires Chuck Norris to live
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #117 on: March 17, 2012, 02:04:44 PM »
"CIS under Win 7 cannot prevent firewall connections when Avast 7 webshield is enabled."

Its for windows 7 only?

And why can others fix it, or even never show this behaviour then, when thats "difficult to fix"?
"If there is a problem, it`s something interesting. Try to circumvent or fix it.
In the old ages there was no support. That`s why we got the brain we have today.
Otherwise we would only be able to call a number and listen."

Offline tbmaster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #118 on: March 17, 2012, 05:42:34 PM »
"CIS under Win 7 cannot prevent firewall connections when Avast 7 webshield is enabled."

Its for windows 7 only?

And why can others fix it, or even never show this behaviour then, when thats "difficult to fix"?

We want some answers from comodo's developers, they can't ignore this problem.


Offline Dumper1

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 157
Re: Comodo Firewall and Avast 7
« Reply #119 on: March 17, 2012, 07:29:16 PM »
I hope this problem gets corrected soon, I will stick to Avast 6 until then.
Avast 9.0.2021 Free - Comodo 7.0.317799.4142 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 7 64bit SP1 - 6GB Ram.

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek