Author Topic: CAVWP.exe  (Read 25045 times)

Offline Mr.Bit2Bit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
CAVWP.exe
« on: January 07, 2013, 03:46:04 PM »
 ??? Hi guys,
My cpu trottles 25% on this exe file from Comodo 6 IS:

CAVWP.exe

 :P0l I don't think its a normal way
Can anyone tell me what is going on, otherwise I quit using the program and will install Zonealarm

Greetings

Jim
Nothing can safe us from a cyberdisaster
But in case of nothing I use Comodo ;-)

Offline Chiron

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11590
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2013, 03:49:58 PM »
Do you have any other security products installed?

Offline Mr.Bit2Bit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2013, 03:50:36 PM »
Do you have any other security products installed?


Nope only this one :'(
I used Comodo for years
never had a problem.... but this is going to far its abusing my CPU

I uninstalled it and went to Zonealarm
 ;D

« Last Edit: January 07, 2013, 04:08:58 PM by Mr.Bit2Bit »
Nothing can safe us from a cyberdisaster
But in case of nothing I use Comodo ;-)

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 19546
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2013, 05:28:54 PM »
If the process was running while your computer was idling you may have witnessed the cache builder of the AV.

Offline Mr.Bit2Bit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2013, 10:11:45 AM »
If the process was running while your computer was idling you may have witnessed the cache builder of the AV.

That could b yes but not for an hour of three at 25% off the CPU usage :-TD
What a great forum a lot of talk and no satisfied answer
Guess the use of Zonealarm might be the best choice 4 now

Thanks 4 your answer Eric
Nothing can safe us from a cyberdisaster
But in case of nothing I use Comodo ;-)

Offline Chiron

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11590
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2013, 10:15:27 AM »
Are you saying that this continued for three hours?

Does running a rating scan help?
Also, please list any changes you may have made to your configuration.

Offline Seany007

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2381
  • Comodo Commando
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2013, 10:58:58 AM »
That could b yes but not for an hour of three at 25% off the CPU usage :-TD
What a great forum a lot of talk and no satisfied answer
Guess the use of Zonealarm might be the best choice 4 now

Thanks 4 your answer Eric

That's what you get with the new products... It's not just Comodo all new products have some issues... Wait until all this get fixed...

Edit: Make a report about this to Comodo plz...
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 11:03:29 AM by Seany007 »
Proud Comodo User (CIS, CD, CID and CMS)

Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 9026
    • Comodo Help
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2013, 11:39:23 AM »
What a great forum a lot of talk and no satisfied answer
Hi Mr.Bit2Bit,
That is a bit below the belt, do you kick the neighbor in the shins for trying to help start your broken lawnmower but didn't succeed? :-TD
I would think hope not.

Did you ever give it a thought that the lack of satisfaction might have come about from lack of information given with the question.
Examples of what may of helped find the cause.
What Operating system do you have?
Did you upgrade or do a fresh install of CIS?
Is your system clean?
Do you have any other possible conflicting programs?
What logs were generated by Comodo?
Did you get any Windows error event logs?
Was you using custom or default settings?
The list of possible helpful information to assist with a possible resolution can vary and much more could be added.
Thanks.
A good read guaranteed.
Forum Policy - Updated on January 3, 2013
PrivDog: The Dog that not only barks at uninvited guests, but rather destroys the intruder.

Offline gwnail

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2013, 12:13:40 PM »
I am having the same issue except the CPU is running at 50% for many hours (more than 12 hours). Had to use Task Manager to shut down cavwp.exe. This is the latest CIS running on XP. Please advise.

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 19546
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2013, 12:30:25 PM »
Cavwp.exe running for hours maxing out a complete CPU core is not good. It may be a bug and/or compatibility issue with other software. Or may be it was running a schedule full system scan.

Can you please check the logs of tasks and see if there was a full system scan running when you witnessed cavwp.exe use up many resources? You can adjust the time period of the logs by using the arrow at the bottom of the logs.

It if was not the full system scan eating up the resources please state what other security programs you are using. Also make sure that left overs of previously installed security programs are no longer around by removing possible left overs with cleanup tools of those programs. Leftovers can cause all sort of strange results A list of such tools can be found here: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN146 .

Keep us posted.

Offline Mr.Bit2Bit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2013, 01:12:15 PM »
I am having the same issue except the CPU is running at 50% for many hours (more than 12 hours). Had to use Task Manager to shut down cavwp.exe. This is the latest CIS running on XP. Please advise.

50% is really bad surely if it is for nothing.
I could not even shut it down via the task manager.
So I restart the pc and after a time the same story.
Now I have zonealarm running without any problems
I'll get back later if the problem dissapears!
Nothing can safe us from a cyberdisaster
But in case of nothing I use Comodo ;-)

Offline Mr.Bit2Bit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2013, 01:14:32 PM »
Cavwp.exe running for hours maxing out a complete CPU core is not good. It may be a bug and/or compatibility issue with other software. Or may be it was running a schedule full system scan.

Can you please check the logs of tasks and see if there was a full system scan running when you witnessed cavwp.exe use up many resources? You can adjust the time period of the logs by using the arrow at the bottom of the logs.

It if was not the full system scan eating up the resources please state what other security programs you are using. Also make sure that left overs of previously installed security programs are no longer around by removing possible left overs with cleanup tools of those programs. Leftovers can cause all sort of strange results A list of such tools can be found here: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN146 .

Keep us posted.

That was my thought also
There were no other security apps running.
No left overs
I repair hard and software for about the last 10 years now and never had such an issue
If the big guys from comodo reads there own forum they could learn from it 2

« Last Edit: January 10, 2013, 08:54:40 AM by Mr.Bit2Bit »
Nothing can safe us from a cyberdisaster
But in case of nothing I use Comodo ;-)

Offline Mr.Bit2Bit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2013, 01:18:33 PM »
Hi Mr.Bit2Bit,
That is a bit below the belt, do you kick the neighbor in the shins for trying to help start your broken lawnmower but didn't succeed? :-TD
I would think hope not.

Did you ever give it a thought that the lack of satisfaction might have come about from lack of information given with the question.
Examples of what may of helped find the cause.
What Operating system do you have?
Did you upgrade or do a fresh install of CIS?
Is your system clean?
Do you have any other possible conflicting programs?
What logs were generated by Comodo?
Did you get any Windows error event logs?
Was you using custom or default settings?
The list of possible helpful information to assist with a possible resolution can vary and much more could be added.
Thanks.

My operating system Windows 7 X64
Clean install of CIS 2013
System is perfectly clean ( and I know after 10 years of experience )
Impossible that there is a conflicting program!
No windows error logs or whatever
Could it even shut down via taskmanager ( only a restart )

Here you go
Nothing can safe us from a cyberdisaster
But in case of nothing I use Comodo ;-)

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 19546
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2013, 01:25:10 PM »
If your system is clean then we are looking at a bug. If you have the time and energy  please consider filing  a bug report in the Bug Reports - CIS board following the format as described in FORMAT & GUIDE - just COPY/PASTE it!.

Reporting of bugs is strictly moderated to make sure Comodo gets clear bug reports. So, please make sure you closely follow protocol. That way your report will certainly be seen by Comodo staff.

Offline gwnail

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: CAVWP.exe
« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2013, 03:04:46 PM »
If you can not make this out then let me know and I will post a screen shot. Please note that I did uninstall the older version before I installed the latest version. Also, I have been using CIS for years on several machines with XP and 7 and have had no problems other than the sandbox not remembering my answer. Thanks. Here are the logs:

COMODO Internet Security Premium Logs

Table   
Tasks Launched
Date Created
2013-01-08 14:00:48
Records count
3
Date    Type    Parameter    Completed    Code    Info    Additional Info
2013-01-08 13:30:01     Av Update          2013-01-08 13:36:04          Old database 14839     New database 14841
2013-01-08 09:49:02     Bin Update          2013-01-08 09:49:23     0x00000001     Old Build 2674     New Build 2674
2013-01-08 09:24:03     Av Update          2013-01-08 09:25:51          Old database 14833     New database 14839
End of The Report

Cavwp.exe running for hours maxing out a complete CPU core is not good. It may be a bug and/or compatibility issue with other software. Or may be it was running a schedule full system scan.

Can you please check the logs of tasks and see if there was a full system scan running when you witnessed cavwp.exe use up many resources? You can adjust the time period of the logs by using the arrow at the bottom of the logs.

It if was not the full system scan eating up the resources please state what other security programs you are using. Also make sure that left overs of previously installed security programs are no longer around by removing possible left overs with cleanup tools of those programs. Leftovers can cause all sort of strange results A list of such tools can be found here: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN146 .

Keep us posted.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 03:07:12 PM by gwnail »

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek