Author Topic: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot  (Read 29450 times)

Offline raazman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« on: April 23, 2008, 05:45:41 PM »
Whenever I try to run a game with gameguard, my computer restarts due to conflicts between gameguard and comodo. I also noticed that if I turn of Defense+ and play the game, it works normally. But, I cannot play gameguard enabled games with Defense+ on. Any ideas on what I have to setup, or is this a bug? Please help. I feel my computer is insecure without Defense+ on.

Vettetech

  • Guest
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2008, 05:49:30 PM »
I am a gamer so read my sticky. You can also manually add the games exe files to D+ and the firewall which is what I do. I just installed Trackmania Nations Forever and all I did was add the 2 files it needs to connect and play.

http://forums.comodo.com/help_for_v3/a_note_to_gamers-t20008.0.html

Offline kail

  • Mostly Benevolent
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11277
  • The future is much like the present, only longer.
    • COMODO's free software!
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2008, 06:07:41 PM »
Hi raazman

There's a bigger topic on this issue, with posts from CFPs Devs on page 2, here.
My System Details: W8Px64 with CIS 6, Firefox 26 & Becky! 2.65
Forum Policy.
____
The problem is not the problems, the problem is people's attitude towards those problems.

Offline raazman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2008, 06:35:09 PM »
I am a gamer so read my sticky. You can also manually add the games exe files to D+ and the firewall which is what I do. I just installed Trackmania Nations Forever and all I did was add the 2 files it needs to connect and play.

http://forums.comodo.com/help_for_v3/a_note_to_gamers-t20008.0.html

I tried puttin defense and firewall in training mode, and ran the game, but that did not work either.
which files do u add to defense? I have to add the gameguard files, but which ones, and where to?

Vettetech

  • Guest
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2008, 07:00:45 PM »
You must be on Vista. I hate Vista for gaming. I bought a new Dell WOW Editon Laptop na dhad XP installed purposly. Can you disable that game guard? To manually add you files just open up D+ and click add. The browse to where the game is installed.

Vettetech

  • Guest
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2008, 07:02:00 PM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GameGuard. I am finding alot of articles of gamegaurd errors. I think there is a patch.

Offline raazman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2008, 07:02:45 PM »
You must be on Vista. I hate Vista for gaming. I bought a new Dell WOW Editon Laptop na dhad XP installed purposly. Can you disable that game guard? To manually add you files just open up D+ and click add. The browse to where the game is installed.

actually I'm on xp home sp2. srry for not being descriptive. And gameguard is the anti-hack measure used by many online games. I need this program (started by the game itself) to play.

Offline kail

  • Mostly Benevolent
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11277
  • The future is much like the present, only longer.
    • COMODO's free software!
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2008, 07:04:30 PM »
Hi raazman & Vettetech

The most recent release of CFP 3.0.22.349 introduced added rootkit protection in Defense+. Unfortunately, it seems that GameGuard does not like it (reason & details in the previous URL I posted). Currently the only work-around is to permanently disable Defense+, otherwise a BSOD on launching a game with nProtect GameGuard is the likely result.
My System Details: W8Px64 with CIS 6, Firefox 26 & Becky! 2.65
Forum Policy.
____
The problem is not the problems, the problem is people's attitude towards those problems.

Offline raazman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2008, 07:07:36 PM »
i was afraid tht was the only solution for right now. well I hope that this conflict could be fixed in the future, other than that, Comodo is great.

Vettetech

  • Guest
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2008, 07:24:35 PM »
I play tons of games and all of them use Punkbusters. All I did was add Punkbusters A and B to the firewall and D+. Try doing the with Gamegaurd. I play WOW,COD4,BF2,BF2142,TF2,HL2,C & C3,Q4,QWARS,NFSMW,TRACKMANIA NATIONS,U2K,Sins Of A Solor Empire.  All of those dont use Gamegaurd. BTW the new Nvidia 174.93 drivers are out and they crank.

http://www.tweakforce.com/

Offline raazman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2008, 09:24:22 PM »
Punkbuster works fine with Comodo, so far. Its just a problem with Gameguard.

Offline stratoc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2008, 08:15:18 AM »
hi, i just had a restart after trying to start albatros18 and found this thread. are these restarts damaging to hard drives or do they close the system properly? i have 2 raptorsin raid and have never had a security program or any program for that matter close my pc down. should i run chkdsk or will things be ok?
thanks

Offline bassman777

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2008, 03:29:53 PM »
I'm having the same problem. I also play a game which requires GameGuard called "Project Torque". Is there a fix going to be created for compatibility with GameGuard? I can see why it's a security risk, especially because it exhibits rootkit-like behavior.

If I choose the option "Disable Defense+ permanently", can I re-enable it at a later time?

Vettetech

  • Guest
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2008, 04:20:48 PM »
You can always re enable D+. Just do the opposite of disabling it.

Offline Munemasa Katagiri

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
Re: Gameguard + Comodo = Computer reboot
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2008, 09:22:23 AM »
I have the same problem...
Windows XP SP3.
I hope they fix that soon like they fixed the BSOD issue.
EDIT: I sent an email to INCA Internet, the makers of Gameguard, but I doubt they'll answer. They never do.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2008, 07:26:55 PM by Munemasa Katagiri »

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek