Author Topic: 2 programs sanboxed, but found nothing in "Programs in the Sandbox"  (Read 2818 times)

Offline WinBMY

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 347
Comodo CIS V4 popup that I have 2 programs sandboxed, but found nothing when I open Comodo GUI and select Defense+, Sandbox, then select "Programs in the Sandbox". What's the problem.

Online Chiron

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 10747
Re: 2 programs sanboxed, but found nothing in "Programs in the Sandbox"
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 10:45:47 PM »
For some (stupid) reason it currently only shows you programs that you manually sandboxed throught that interface. In order to see all sandboxed programs I believe you have to search through the logs. I hope this will be fixed in the next update.

Offline Whoop-dee-doo

  • Cave Dweller
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • What are you staring at?
Re: 2 programs sanboxed, but found nothing in "Programs in the Sandbox"
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 01:38:24 AM »
I posted the following gripe in the usability forum (link for mods and developers only).

Sandbox Options
The "programs in the Sandbox" window is completely mis-named. The current title indicates that you will find all currently sandboxed applications listed here...and, of course, it does not do that. This window allows the user to select which programs you always want to run in the sandbox. More correct and clear names include:
  • "Applications to Always Sandbox"
  • "Applications Aways Run in the Sandbox" - I used this one in the sample pic (Sandbox options pic).
  • "Applications that are always Sandboxed"
  • "Always Sandbox these applications"
Also, the "run a program in the sandbox" really means that a program will only be run once in the sand box, so a better title would be something like "Run an application in the sandbox (one time only)". So you run a program in the sandbox either once or always. These options should be worded more clearly to distinguish this important difference (see pic sandbox options).

Apps Currently in the sandbox
In addition to distinguishing sandboxed apps in the "active process" window (see sample pic posted here), there needs to be a defense+ sandbox option to see which apps are sandboxed (see pic sandbox options). This option needs to list the programs currently running in the sandbox, their restriction level, and  maybe their virtualization (see Inside Sandbox sample pic).

Whoop
"The best way to have a good idea is to have a lot of ideas." - Linus Pauling   :-La 

"Don't find fault. Find a remedy." - Henry Ford

Offline WinBMY

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 347
Re: 2 programs sanboxed, but found nothing in "Programs in the Sandbox"
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 04:37:01 AM »
Thanks, then I know why it does show up in the Tab of "Programs in the Sanbox". And looking forward to seeing next release updated.

Offline dave1234

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 474
Re: 2 programs sanboxed, but found nothing in "Programs in the Sandbox"
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 06:21:50 AM »
Hello. Matt from Remove Malware.com pointed out the same thing in his recent tests he has uploaded to Youtube, and it freaked him out that the box was empty.This also freaks me out as its a schoolboy error in my opinion and hope this amongst other sandbox issues are fixed asap.

Regards
Dave1234.

Offline donut53

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
Re: 2 programs sanboxed, but found nothing in "Programs in the Sandbox"
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2010, 08:42:46 AM »
With the new update the "programs in the sandbox" now reads "add a program to the sandbox"... I still would like to know if there is a simple way to check the sandbox to see what programs are currently running in the sandbox...

Offline eSkRo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: 2 programs sanboxed, but found nothing in "Programs in the Sandbox"
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2010, 02:12:50 PM »
i agree here too.... this is so confusing,,,, and can be so easy to fix,,,

Offline atomas31

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
Re: 2 programs sanboxed, but found nothing in "Programs in the Sandbox"
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2010, 02:36:52 PM »
I also hope this "issue" can be fix quickly like others I found that confusing  :-\

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek