Author Topic: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]  (Read 6476 times)

Offline ~Daniel~

  • I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« on: August 09, 2007, 10:07:05 PM »
seems Avast, specifically ashwebsv.exe doesn't play nice with CFP

most web sites refused to load with firefox or IE.  some would load partially, missing CSS formatting.

under Network Security Policy, I had tried a setting of Trusted Application and Web Browser with the same results.

Turning off Avast Web Shield made for happy browsing.

I am running todays beta CFP on WinXP x64.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2007, 03:10:45 PM by Soya Lv. 2 »
OS: Win 10 Enterprise x64 build 1809
Comodo: CIS 11.X (latest version)
Backup/Imaging: Macrium Reflect Home v7.X
Win10 Phone: N/A
Personal Website: Comodo SSL (via CloudFlare)

Offline mgcl2ticl4

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 07:04:39 AM »
Yes.  I have noticed the same problem and your solution works.

Otherwise CPF works great!!  Definitely a superb program.

I am running on Win XP Pro x64.

Offline Ragwing

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3497
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2007, 08:25:01 AM »
I read somewhere that you change proxy in IE and firefox to 127.0.0.1:12020 and it'll work.
Remember to change redirect port in avast web shield to 12020.


Ragwing

Offline Typo

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • http://pdehq.hyperphp.com/
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2007, 09:37:57 AM »
Yes youre correct everything works fine by just chancing from Web Shield options http forwarding or something from port 80 to port 12020

:D

Offline ~Daniel~

  • I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2007, 05:43:39 PM »
hmmm, changing that setting in Avast works, without touching the proxy settings of IE/Firefox... interestingly odd

 (:TNG) :THNK :Beer
At least all the pages load properly now  :BNC (:CLP)
« Last Edit: August 12, 2007, 08:40:03 PM by m0ng0d »
OS: Win 10 Enterprise x64 build 1809
Comodo: CIS 11.X (latest version)
Backup/Imaging: Macrium Reflect Home v7.X
Win10 Phone: N/A
Personal Website: Comodo SSL (via CloudFlare)

Offline foxman

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 193
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2007, 05:57:11 AM »
Yes! it works without having to meddle with the proxy setting! and doesn't matter which port number it is set to, as long as it is not 80! Thanks!

Offline mgcl2ticl4

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2007, 12:27:18 PM »
How do you change the Avast Web Shield port settings?  I can't find it.  Do you mean the update connection settings?

Offline mgcl2ticl4

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2007, 08:13:07 PM »
How do you change the Avast Web Shield port settings?  I can't find it.  Do you mean the update connection settings?

Never mind--  I found it.  It's in On-Access Protection Control after right-clicking the Avast taskbar icon.

Offline ~Daniel~

  • I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2007, 02:50:59 PM »
I believe these are the right configurations for aVast & IE...

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 19, 2007, 03:24:13 PM by m0ng0d »
OS: Win 10 Enterprise x64 build 1809
Comodo: CIS 11.X (latest version)
Backup/Imaging: Macrium Reflect Home v7.X
Win10 Phone: N/A
Personal Website: Comodo SSL (via CloudFlare)

Offline ~Daniel~

  • I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2007, 03:24:39 PM »
I believe these are the right configurations for aVast & FF...

[attachment deleted by admin]
OS: Win 10 Enterprise x64 build 1809
Comodo: CIS 11.X (latest version)
Backup/Imaging: Macrium Reflect Home v7.X
Win10 Phone: N/A
Personal Website: Comodo SSL (via CloudFlare)

Offline Typo

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • http://pdehq.hyperphp.com/
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2007, 08:43:48 AM »
I believe these are the right configurations for aVast & FF...

These seem to work ok, thanks :)

NEEDS TO BE APPLIED TO THUNDERBIRD ALSO
« Last Edit: August 21, 2007, 09:08:18 AM by Typo »

Offline Typo

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • http://pdehq.hyperphp.com/
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2007, 01:22:41 PM »
I have learned that using Avast that I had to set 127.0.0.1:12080 proxy to ALL these to work correctly:

-Firefox
-IE
-Thunderbird
-WinAmp
-Last.Fm

I dont know whats going on...

XP64

Offline khagaroth

  • Product Translator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 228
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2007, 06:35:02 PM »
Whats going on is that CFP somehow breaks redirection of HTTP traffic, that Avast WebShield normally does. Strange is, that redirection of POP3/SMTP/IMAP/NNTP traffic (done by another process of Avast) works fine.

Offline pims

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: CFP and Avast Web Sheild (ashwebsv.exe) [RESOLVED]
« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2007, 11:53:42 AM »
Sorry for an perhaps a bad question, but where do you set this, in IE or Avast. If Avast where.
Wondering becouse i've got the same problem, had to disable the web shield in Avast.

Best regards
Pims


I have learned that using Avast that I had to set 127.0.0.1:12080 proxy to ALL these to work correctly:

-Firefox
-IE
-Thunderbird
-WinAmp
-Last.Fm

I dont know whats going on...

XP64

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek