Author Topic: GOOGLE TRANSLATE doesnt work [Merged]  (Read 568 times)

Offline luke_nadewalker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
GOOGLE TRANSLATE doesnt work [Merged]
« on: June 17, 2014, 10:47:57 PM »
Specific symptoms of the bug and steps you can take to reproduce it (step by step).
i find a web page that is in a foreign language, and google translate offers to translate. i click translate and it claims it has, yet i see no change.

Specific steps you have taken to try to resolve it.
closed browser and re opened, restarted pc, uninstalled then reinstalled dragon, updated dragon to the latest
Comodo Dragon Version (Stable/Beta) e.g. Dragon 4.1.1.11 (Beta); e.g. Dragon 4.1.1.12 (Stable)
Version 33.1.0.0 (altho i noticed this with the two previous  versions also, 31 & whatever the one before that was)
Plugins/Themes installed in Comodo Dragon
NONE
Windows version (w/ 32 or 64-bit) e.g: Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit); Windows XP SP 3 (32-bit)
win7 X64
UAC status (diabled/enabled) if it applies to you [ for Vista/Windows 7 only! ]
Dissabled
System Drive where Windows is installed (e.g. C:\, "C" Drive  )
Place (installation path) where Comodo Dragon is installed

Default
User privileges (administrator, limited user, guest, etc.)
Administrator and the only user
If you have Google Chrome installed then please mention it's version and whether the same issue reproduces with it.
No i do not have it installed, but i imagine it works fine with their browser.
Mod edit: Added merged to the topic title, Captainsticks.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 07:42:38 AM by captainsticks »

Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 9153
    • Comodo Help
Re: GOOGLE TRANSLATE doesnt work
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2014, 07:56:43 AM »
Hi luke_nadewalker,
This is a known issue as noted in the topic below.
Translating with the built-in translator is not working

Thank you for posting this issue using the correct bug reporting format, your efforts are appreciated and I hope this issue can be solved sometime in the future. :-TU

Thanks for your time.
A good read guaranteed.
Forum Policy - Updated on January 3, 2013
PrivDog: The Dog that not only barks at uninvited guests, but rather destroys the intruder.

Offline GCG1000

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72

Offline Lotus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Translation not working
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2014, 06:56:15 AM »
Both CD and CS have problems translating pages from other languages to english.

Tested on a french page (http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikip%C3%A9dia:Accueil_principal) and a russian page (http://help.yandex.ru/yabrowser/). Right click, Translate to English with no effect.

Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 9153
    • Comodo Help
Re: GOOGLE TRANSLATE doesnt work [Merged]
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2014, 07:45:28 AM »
Hi Lotus,
This is a known issue which has not been fixed unfortunately. :(

The extension kindly posted by 'GCG1000' in reply 2 of this topic appears to be the best workaround.

Kind regards.
A good read guaranteed.
Forum Policy - Updated on January 3, 2013
PrivDog: The Dog that not only barks at uninvited guests, but rather destroys the intruder.

Offline Lotus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: GOOGLE TRANSLATE doesnt work [Merged]
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2014, 10:34:46 AM »
Hi captainsticks.

I noticed the problem is not specific to Comodo products. Torch and SuperBird, both based on Chromium, are equally unable to translate. However, others are doing the job just fine: Slimjet, Yandex, SRWare Iron and obviously, Chrome.

I don't like the idea of adding extra plugins just to do the basic job the browser should be doing in the first place, and maybe not as good. Combine with the big gap between last Chrome and CD/CS versions (I know they promised faster releases in the future, I'm still waiting), and the reshaping of CD to look like Chrome (what a nice browser was before!), it's time to move on. I will not abandon all hope, and keep an eye on what is going on here, but for the time being at least, I will switch to another browser as my main.

Thanks for your reply.

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek