Author Topic: Error: "Insufficient resources."  (Read 9195 times)

Offline underst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Error: "Insufficient resources."
« on: August 12, 2009, 09:13:44 AM »
"Update failed. Error code 0x800705aa. Insufficient resources exist to complete the requested service."
COMODO fails to respond to important prompts, including update database and run a scan.

When my system stalled, I noticed the process soffice.bin was consuming way too much CPU. After terminating it, the system started to run normally again. soffice.bin is associated with openoffice and java, however openoffice forums point the finger at COMODO, saying it has incompatibility issues. (ref:  http://www.oooforum.org/forum/viewtopic.phtml?t=76192&highlight=comodo)

It is easy to play the blame game. Either way, whether or not COMODO is the direct cause of this problem, COMODO experiences other serious problems. Both before and even AFTER terminating the runaway soffice.bin process, COMODO fails to respond to certain commands such as pause scan, start scan and update virus database. It reports the error message: "Update failed. Error code 0x800705aa. Insufficient resources exist to complete the requested service." For a security suite with a heritage including memory firewalls, such a problem seems to raise serious concerns about COMODO's capabilities.

Does anyone know the cause of this problem, or how to fix it? I found an old post addressing soffice.bin under archived forums, but it does not seem to fully resolve the problem in a completely satisfactory manner. (Posting at this stage it is hard to identify whether the problem will prove to be persistent, I assume it will be if COMODO has product incompatabilities.)

Offline DragonMaster Jay

  • Malware Research Group
  • Comodo Family Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 83
  • Malware expert
    • The Ultimate Geek TaskForce!
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2009, 09:40:15 AM »
soffice.bin is StarOffice: http://www.sun.com/software/staroffice/index.jsp

Your error, is a recent error encountered from an update of CIS. Attempt to reinstall CIS to update to the newest version. Please report back here when done. If everything goes well, I can confirm it was just a bug.
DragonMaster Jay
Malware researcher
Owner - Cheetah-Anti-Malware Development Group

Offline underst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2009, 01:50:23 AM »
I am currently using version 3.9.95478.509  , installed recently.
Is there a newer version available, to which I can update?

Although soffice.bin still appears to be a runaway process problem, I have not sofar reencountered COMODO's error messages. (For your information, I received additional error messages in the first instance of the problem, shortly after posting. (Error code 0x80004002)

Regarding soffice.bin, I do not use star office. Perhaps it is a process common to both star office and open office?

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2009, 03:16:22 AM »
Hi underst,

There is a newer version 3.10.x.531 you should be able to "upgrade" go to Misc, Check for Updates and it should let you do the update.

The error's you are describing are also related to the crashing of the CIS engine, can you check you Windows Eventlog's and see if it recorded crashes for cmdagent.exe
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline underst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Error: "Insufficient resources." - persistent problem
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2009, 06:05:14 AM »
Apologies for the delay, and thankyou for the advice.

I have now upgraded to version 3.11

I STILL receive the aforementioned error message. In particular, I notice a full system scan tends to seize up while scanning a folder which contains many java files. I don't think this is a coincidence.

I have viewed the eventlog, there are a tonne of error messages, but I couldn't see any recent error messages listing "CIS engine" as the source. (The eventlog is a somewhat foreign programme to me however, and I could be missing soomething.)

It seems that the problem is persistent and remains unresolved.

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources." - persistent problem
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2009, 06:16:36 AM »
I STILL receive the aforementioned error message. In particular, I notice a full system scan tends to seize up while scanning a folder which contains many java files. I don't think this is a coincidence.
Can you try the following, put that folder(s) on the AV's exclusion list and see if it finishes a full scan then ?
You can go to AV, Settings, Exclusions and then Add the folders there, this should prevent cmdagent from crashing on them if they are the cause.

It's advisable to reboot after adding them because cmdagent could have already crashed on you.
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline underst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2009, 06:34:38 AM »
Ok, I can try that. It will take a while to complete and repost.
I will have to reboot at any rate; comodo won't let me do anything otherwise.

As a side note, I don't think it is satisfactory that a user should need to rely on excluding entire such folders from the scan list. For instance, I know that the java files are safe in this case. If I didn't know that, then there could be cause for concern. (Of course, I need to complete the above first to confirm the suspected problem. I will post again then.)

Thanks.

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2009, 06:55:48 AM »
Ok, I can try that. It will take a while to complete and repost.
I will have to reboot at any rate; comodo won't let me do anything otherwise.

As a side note, I don't think it is satisfactory that a user should need to rely on excluding entire such folders from the scan list. For instance, I know that the java files are safe in this case. If I didn't know that, then there could be cause for concern. (Of course, I need to complete the above first to confirm the suspected problem. I will post again then.)

Thanks.
Yes your right on this, but as the AV engine is still very young (almost a year in October) there are still some bugs to fix, that other vendors have already seen over the years... from what's in the wild on users systems. The insufficient resources is nothing else then "oops the engine crashed" and that should not happen... but then a gain, there are millions of setup's with different files and stuff on it that it's impossible to create a bug free engine that can fight all of them from day one ;)
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline underst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2009, 10:40:05 PM »
Full system scan completed after adding the exclusion.

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2009, 03:49:56 AM »
New it's getting interesting ;), are you able to share or upload these files ?
Can you explain again what they are, can i download them somewhere ?
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

Offline JamesOnTheWay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2009, 09:22:09 PM »
I will add my problems to this same error code...

My CIS version is 3.11.108364.552 and the virus database is 2146. Manual updating tells me there are no new updates.

My AV scan reached a point where it hung. It gave me that same error message when I attempted to Pause and Stop the scan, as well as when I attempted to manually Update the AV Database. The file that AV Scan hung on is a Microsoft Theme file with a .ELM extension. I do not believe the specific file had anything to do with the hang or the engine crashing.

When I checked after my hung scan, 44 Threats had been found. These same files identified as threats had never before produced error messages with Comodo AV or CIS, and I recently ran an online Kaspersky scan that did not indicate these files were problems.

Actually, I am more than tired of seeing messages like Heur.Suspicious[at]xxxxxxxx, Heur.Pck.Shrinker, UnclassifiedMalware[at]xxxxxxxx, and other such innocuous codes that have absolutely no meaning to me. If it is a threat, tell me its name and what steps are necessary to combat it. Otherwise, stop harassing me with meaningless gibberish.

Bottom line: I left AVG's free products for Comodo's and never had any problems like these I continually experience with Comodo products. Perhaps it is time to find a more legitimate solution that does not have all these unfinished development problems. However, I do not look forward to uninstalling, cleaning up leftover residue, installing new products, and going through all the new configuration steps. I would rather Comodo solve their problems. And, yet, statements like, "We can't prepare for all configuration issues" or "We can't prepare for all contingencies" are bogus, no solution, and admissions of failure. As an experienced application developer, I believe the problem is Comodo's software design, structure, and coding, and unfamiliarity with specific current and past malware threats or how to effectively deal with them and new issues:
  • Either Comodo's products work, or they do not.
    • Too often, it appears they do not.
  • Either Comodo's developers know what the malware is or they do not.
    • Too often, it appears they do not.
  • Either Comodo products have built-in capabilities to deal with new, previously unknown issues (which we were led to believe they do), or they do not.
    • Too often, it appears they do not.

It is not users' responsibility to solve and fix Comodo's problems. Far too much unpaid responsibility is placed on Comodo's customers. The concept is very good but can Comodo truly perform and fulfill their objectives, vision, and mission?

Offline underst

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2009, 09:44:58 AM »
New it's getting interesting ;), are you able to share or upload these files ?
Can you explain again what they are, can i download them somewhere ?
They are simple java files. I don't think you can download them anywhere. However, on closer inspection I have been led to believe the problem may not be to do so much with the files themselves as the actual folders. It seems one of the subfolders has a recursive file structure; it contains within it several subfolders within subfolders all with the same name and contents - apparently generated by one of those random quirks of Windows. Perhaps some information relating to the folder has been corrupted; and yet in order to test such a hypothesis and/or fix the problem I have no suggestion. But regardless (if the folder information is corrupt) it can only be beneficial that Comodo try to work around such problems when upgrades are considered.

[at]James: if you repeat the scan and it hangs on the same file, you will know that it probably does have something to do with the engine crashing. As to why it crashes, that's also a mystery to me.

Generally speaking, is it not within Comodo's capability to catch its own anticipated errors or exceptions and print a simple error report as opposed to crashing entirely and refusing to resume? Clearly I am simplifying somewhat, but I do believe Comodo could benefit from improved error reporting. If Comodo knows it doesn't have the resources to do something, can't it stop that thread and/or reset the engine?

Offline Ronny

  • Product Translator
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 13404
  • Volunteer Moderator
Re: Error: "Insufficient resources."
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2009, 10:00:54 AM »
Would it be possible to post a screenshot of that folder structure ?
Volunteer Moderator
Any concerns? Please send me a PM or review the Forum Policy -  update Jan 3rd 2013!

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com | Smf Destek